I was under the impression that completing an AZ DPS Approved 8 hour Course was required prior to receiving an AZ CCW Permit. I notice on your web site that your organization offers two shorter courses, listed below, which qualify for the AZ CCW Permit.
AZ CCW Laws, regarding eligibility requirements for issuance of the AZ CCW Permit changed July 29, 2010. Our courses follow the new eligibility requirements. A.R.S. 13-3112(N)(1), http://www.azdps.gov/Services/ Concealed_ Weapons/Permits/Obtain/
What subject matter is covered in the Basic Pistol and CCW Course?
Rules for Safe Gun Handling
Where are classes held?
Classes are held at Ben Avery Shooting Facility located in Phoenix, AZ at the I-17 and Carefree Hwy (Exit 223). Classrooms are air-conditioned for your comfort. Click Here for Map
Are there any residency requirements?
No. You do not have to be a resident of Arizona.
What are the requirements necessary to obtain an Arizona CCW Permit?
* Must be a United States citizen or permanent resident alien.
* Must be lawfully present in the United States.
* Must be at least 21 years of age.
* Not under indictment or have not been convicted of a felony in the U.S. or elsewhere. (* See Exceptions below)
* Not convicted of misdemeanor domestic violence.
* Not under court order (i.e. order of protection, harassment, etc.)
* Not a fugitive from justice.
* Not a user of or addicted to any controlled substance.
* Not been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
* Have never renounced U.S. citizenship.
* Do not suffer from mental illness and have not been adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution.
* Satisfactorily complete a firearms safety training program approved by the State of Arizona pursuant to ARS § 13-3112(N)(1) or meet the conditions set forth in ARS § 13-3112(E)(6) and ARS § 13-3112(N).
* Either of the two courses listed below meet or exceed the minimum training requirements for the State of Arizona pursuant to ARS § 13-3112(N) :
http://azccw.com/course1.htm Class Only (no range)
http://azccw.com/course2.htm Class + Range
HB 2634 allows applicants who are not currently prohibited possessors under state or federal law AND whose felony convictions have been expunged, set aside, vacated, or whose rights have been restored the ability to obtain a concealed weapons permit. It also extends reciprocity to other states who issue permits under the same or similar conditions.
Federal and state laws play a significant role in determining if a record that has been expunged, set aside or vacated will allow an applicant to obtain a concealed weapons permit. Some convictions, even though they have been expunged, set aside or vacated may prevent the issuance of a concealed weapons permit because of conflict with other laws which prohibit possession of a weapon.
Additionally, reciprocal agreements with other states may be effected. The DPS Concealed Weapons Permit Unit will contact all other states to ascertain if they will enter into, or continue to honor, reciprocal agreements with Arizona. An updated reciprocity list will be posted on the CCW web page once this process has been completed. Until such time, permit holders wishing to carry concealed utilizing their Arizona CCW permit while visiting another state are responsible for contacting that state to ensure thier Arizona permit is recognized.
Active duty Arizona Peace Officers Standards and Training Board certified or federally credentialed peace officers.
Honorably retired federal, state or local peace officers with a minimum of 10 years of service may obtain a permit without taking the firearms safety training program.
DPS approved Firearms Safety Training Instructors may obtain a permit without taking the firearms safety training program.
How long is my CCW Permit good for?
Five (5) Years.
When and how often must I renew my CCW Permit?
Concealed weapon permits must be renewed every five (5) years. All applicants must complete a DPS renewal form and submit form to AZ DPS along with permit renewal fee before the expiration date listed on their permit. There is a 60 day grace period beyond your expiration date.
What is included in the course fee?
All required AZ DPS CCW Permit application forms, all related printed material, Fingerprinting and Certificate of Completion. Range Fees are also included with Course 2.
What other fee, if any, is required for my CCW Permit?
A processing fee in the amount of $60 (Cashier's Check of Money Order ONLY) made payable to the Arizona Department of Public Safety. This payment is submitted with your CCW Permit Application form and Fingerprint Card upon completion of the course. Again, remember that your instructor will provide you with and help you complete the required forms at the beginning of class.
How old must I be to receive my AZ CCW Permit?
You must be 21 Years of age, however, you may attend the either course if you are 20 years of age and your 21st birthday is within six (6) months of the date you complete training (Certification Date).
What does Course 2 live-fire consist of ?
15 shots total at adistance of 5 yards. A TQ15 Silhouette target is used.
Am I required to use my own handgun, and if so are there any special requirements?
Yes, you are required to bring a handgun that you are familiar with. Any revolver or semi-auto in good working order. .22 - .45 Cal is acceptable.
What if I do not have access to a handgun?
ADFT can provide you with
your choice of revolver or semi-auto, as long as you request
a loaner at the time of registration. The charge is $25 (incl
Does ADFT provide the ammunition and eye/ear protection as well?
Yes, you will not be required to supply your own ammunition or eye/ear protection.
What am I required to bring to class?
Course 1: Pen (with black ink) only.
Course 2: Pen (with black ink), handgun (unloaded and in a case or holster), quality strong side holster (no small of back or shoulder holsters, fanny packs or belly bands), 30 rounds of factory ammunition and eye and ear protection if you have it. ADFT will provide eye & ear protection for those without.
© 2005-2014 RBI Defensive Firearms Training